Colour Wednesday: Analogous Harmony

Standard

When thinking about colour schemes we often take our cues from nature.  An analogous scheme is made up of colours that are located beside each other on the colour wheel.  These colour palettes appear in nature quite often – think of a field of sunflowers amidst green blades of grass with a backdrop of a vibrant blue sky.  Or the yellow, orange and red hues that can be found in a single flame.  Analogous colour sequences work quite well together and can transform children’s rooms, nurseries and play spaces into harmonious havens.  One of my favourite analogous schemes is the yellow-green-blue sequence.  If the right hues are chosen in this combo it can be quite stunning.  Check out my picks for an analogous themed kid’s space.

-Lay Lay

Sourcing:

1. Yacht Stripe Fabric, Pixie Dust Decor $19/yd

2. Sea Turtle Hook Pillow, Rosenberry Rooms $58

3. Serena Chandelier (small), Currey and Company $2042

4. Lemon Elephant Bookshelf by Dwell Studio, Rosenberry Rooms $124

5. Great Outdoors Number Poster, Land of Nod $99

6. Pondicherry Bed with nailheads in leaf diamond fabric, Serena and Lily $1850 (twin)

7. Moroccan Painted Lamp on green base, Oopsy Daisy $138

About laideen

I am a fun loving wife and mother of 3. I am also an interior designer with a degree in architecture and my design firm, Lay Lay Baby Interiors, specializes in creating nurseries, children's bedrooms and play spaces that inspire. I love creating things and I satisfy my artistic thirst through my work and writing my 'sometimes too personal' blog at laylaybabytalk.com

Leave a comment